The sites listed below were selected because
they offer current, authoritative information and resources for
improved animal care and use in research, testing, and teaching.
Most include conference reports and newly issued protocols. Many offer newsletters or other regular information updates
to assist investigators and Institutional Animal
Care Use Committees to stay up to date with developments in animal
testing and alternatives.
|
Animal Welfare
Information Center (AWIC)
http://www.nal.usda.gov/awic
The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC), a service of the
United States Department of Agriculture's National Agriculture Library,
is mandated by the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) to provide information
for improved animal care and use in research, testing, teaching
and exhibition. The Animal Welfare Act specifically
mentions AWIC as a resource for primary investigators searching
for the availability of alternatives to animal testing. The
Alternatives
site in AWIC provides information on methods and sources available
to reduce, refine or replace animals used in teaching, testing and
research.
|
AltWeb
http://altweb.jhsph.edu
AltWeb, the Alternatives to Animal Testing Web Site, is an international
online clearinghouse for alternatives news, information, and resources.
Alt Web is managed by The Johns
Hopkins Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing (CAAT). AltWeb assists scientists and others conducting searches
for alternative methods and to serve as a central reference point
for alternatives information, publications, databases and other resources. Among other services, it offers a tutorial
on searching for alternatives to animal testing. Recent news items
are available on the AltWeb home page and archived on the site.
|
The European Centre
for the Validation of Alternative Methods (EVCAM)
http://ecvam.jrc.it
Founded on a directive of the European Commission, EVCAM promotes
the scientific and regulatory acceptance of non-animal tests through
research, test development and validation. It focuses on toxicity
studies of chemical products, particularly medicines, vaccines and
cosmetics. It validates alternative methods, provides training
and publishes animal testing alternatives protocols.
|
Fund for the Replacement
of Animals in Experiments (FRAME)
http://www.frame.org.uk
FRAME, a charitable organization based in the United Kingdom, conducts
research on alternatives, offers a guide to searching for alternatives,
and provides information, education and lobbying to replace, reduce
or refine the use of animals in research. In addition to publishing
a peer reviewed journal, ALTA, FRAME publishes a newsletter,
FRAME News.
|
IACUC.ORG
http://www.iacuc.org
IACUC.ORG, produced by the American
Association for Laboratory Animal Science (AALAS), is an information resource for members and staff of Institutional
Animal Care and Use Committees (IACUC). It provides
a directory of links to websites on a range of topics of interest
to IACUCs, including a section on alternatives. It also sponsors
IACUC-FORUM, a closed listserv where IACUC members from research institutions in
the United States may privately discuss issues relating to laboratory
animal research.
|
The Interagency
Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods
(ICCVAM)
and
The
National Toxicology Program (NTP) Interagency Center for the Evaluation
of Alternative Toxicological Methods (NICEATM)
http://iccvam.niehs.nih.gov
ICCVAM, established by the National Institute of Environmental
Health Sciences (NIEHS) is composed of representatives from 15 Federal
regulatory and research agencies. The National Toxicology Program
(NTP) at the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
(NIEHS) created the NTP Interagency Center for the Evaluation of
Alternative Toxicological Methods (NICEATM or "the Center")
to administer ICCVAM and provides operational and scientific support
for ICCVAM and ICCVAM-related activities. NICEATM and ICCVAM work
collaboratively to evaluate new and improved test methods applicable
to the needs of U.S. Federal agencies. Meeting reports, information
and updates are available.
|
National Centre for
the Replacement, Refinement and Reduction of Animals in Research
( NC3Rs)
http://www.nc3rs.org.uk
NC3Rs is a public-private partnership in the United Kingdom for
the promotion, development and implementation of the 3 Rs in animal
research and testing; it provides a forum for industry, academia,
regulatory agencies and the animal protection community to work
together. The Centre funds 3 Rs research, organizes workshops and
symposia to disseminate and advance the 3 Rs, and develops 3 Rs information
resources and guidelines. Their Information Portal offers a comprehensive
directory to online resources in all areas of laboratory animal
welfare. News updates and articles are published on the
site, and free
registration is available for the Newsletter.
|
NIH Animals in Research Web Site
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/policy/air/index.htm
This site from the NIH's Office of Extramural Research provides news, policies, education, training and information on the use of animals in research. Information is provided for researchers and institutions as well as the general public.
|
Recognizing Pain in Animals
http://dels.nas.edu/animal_pain/
From the Institute for Laboratory Animal Research of the National Academies, this is a guide to recognizing, minimizing and alleviating pain in laboratory animals without compromising the methodological integrity of research projects.
|
Scientists Center for Animal
Welfare (SCAW)
http://scaw.com
SCAW is a nonprofit educational association of individuals and
institutions whose mission is to promote best practices for the
management of animals involved in reseach, labororatory, agricultural
and other settings. It is affiliated with the American Association
for the Advancement of Science, Altweb, and the American Association
for Laboratory Animal Science, among others. SCAW offers IACUC
Talk, an online forum that is open to everyone, but that is
designed to allow IACUC members to discuss protocols and research
into animal well being, as well as other topics.
|
The University of California Center for Animal Alternatives
http://www.vetmed.ucdavis.edu/Animal_Alternatives/main.htm
The UC Center for Animal Alternatives is a comprehensive portal
offering information about animal alternatives and methods for
improving animal care. The site maintains a comprehensive directory
of organizations and web resources. It also provides tutorials and
one-click search templates for a wide range of topics regarding
alternatives to animal use in both research and education.
|
The Mount Sinai IACUC
provides the forms needed to document searches for alternatives
to animal testing. Its Resources page links to the Guide
for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, the full text of
the Animal Welfare Act, and the Public Health Service
Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals. |
|